Our live eTownHall series is a chance for you to take part in the discussion about the future of our transportation system. Join us as a panel of experts discuss the current status of transportation in Broward and how that could change in the future based on our actions today.

Meet the Panelists

Richard Blattner Hollywood City Commissioner, Member of the Broward County Planning Council, Chair of the Broward Metropolitan Planning Organization

Commissioner Blattner began his political career with his election to the City Commission in 1994, serving until 2000. He was re-elected in 2007 and has been continuously re-elected in 2008 and 2012. He has served as Vice Mayor three times, is a member of the Broward County Planning Council, Chair of the Broward MPO, as well as a member of several other local boards.


Representative Lois Frankel U.S. Representative for Florida's 22nd Congressional District

Representative Lois Frankel is an experienced public servant with a strong record of bringing jobs and opportunity to South Florida. After serving 14 years in the Florida state legislature, including as the first woman Democratic minority leader, Lois became mayor of West Palm Beach in 2003. Lois was elected November 6, 2012 to represent Florida's 22nd Congressional District, which stretches from Riviera Beach in Palm Beach County to Ft. Lauderdale and Plantation in Broward County. She is the first woman to represent Florida’s 22nd congressional district. Lois serves on the Transportation and Infrastructure and Foreign Affairs committees. On the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, Lois sits on the Highways and Transit, Water Resources and the Environment, and the Coast Guard and Maritime Transportation subcommittees. On the Foreign Affairs committee, she is on the Middle East and North Africa subcommittee.

Barbara Sharief, MSN, ARNP Mayor, Broward County Board of County Commissioners, Commission District 8

In November 2010, Barbara was elected to the Broward County Commission District 8 seat-serving the cities of Hallandale Beach, Miramar, Pembroke Park, Pembroke Pines, and West Park-and has concurrently served on the Broward MPO Board. She was recently selected by her peers to serve as Mayor of Broward County for 2014. In addition to serving as a County Commissioner, Barbara owns and operates a home health care company that she founded in 2001.


Representative Debbie Wasserman Schultz U.S. Representative for Florida's 23rd Congressional District

For more than 20 years, Debbie Wasserman Schultz has dedicated her public life to working on behalf of the people of South Florida. Rep. Wasserman Schultz represents Florida's 23rd Congressional district, which encompasses parts of Broward and Miami-Dade counties.



Troubleshooting Guide
Terms of Participation

For More Information

Please contact Carol Henderson at (954) 876-0076 or hendersonc@browardmpo.org to learn more about the Broward MPO and what they are working on in your community.